After a week straight of waiting in lines, hearing reports of restless crowds and the ensuing violence, and having to endure masses of people who only came to get drunk on 6th Street, I still came away from this year’s edition of SXSW having had an absolute blast. Though I probably overexerted myself and had to miss several bands I wanted to see (of the ten bands on last week’s list of groups to check out I only got to see five), I still saw some amazing performances, discovered several great bands (heads up, Portland 12 piece group Typhoon is REALLY good) and met some pretty cool people along the way. For those who are curious about what I saw, I have compiled a list of  just about every band I bared witness to in the last week, thanks in no small part to my Tweeting. Believe it or not, I managed to avoid Das Racist, Odd Future, and going anywhere near the Fader Fort this year, all of which was probably for the better. Anyway, here is the list:

Fitz and the Tantrums

Twin Shadow (x3)

Givers

Cloud Nothings

Royal Bangs

Memoryhouse

Diamond Rings

The Head and the Heart

Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears

The Civil Wars

Bob Schneider

Sun Airway

Braids (x2)

The Strokes

Glasser

Tune-Yards

James Blake

Nicole Atkins

Charlie Mars

Old 97’s (x2)

G. Love

Deer Tick

Thao With The Get Down Stay Down

Rural Alberta Advantage (x2)

Fang Island

Sharon Von Etten

Typhoon

Here’s hoping I get to see most of these groups in a real show setting sometime soon! Be on the lookout in the coming weeks for more MoM goodness!

-Ryan

