As if anyone needed further proof that music journalism is leaving the tactile world behind, another print magazine has seen its final days.

Paste, an independent publication that focused mainly on indie Americana and folk music, broke the news yesterday in an internal meeting that the magazine was folding. According to multiple reports, employees were given two hours to clean their desks, and many of their writers now find themselves without a job.

The magazine had been experiencing financial troubles for some time. Last year, contributions from readers, which according to a Gawker article were estimated at a quarter million dollars, allowed the magazine to continue to print. Unfortunately, it was not enough.

Paste is the third mass distributed music magazine to go under in the last 18 months, joining Blender and Vibe.

It is sad to see Paste go. Starting with their first issue in 2002, they established themselves as an influential voice in the indie community. They had a lot of talent on their staff, and often published thought provoking and interesting articles, such as this one about the state of indie music earlier this year, and a hilarious pictograph documenting the evolution of the hipster. While I didn’t always agree with their reviews, it was a solid magazine through and through.

This news makes me a little nervous about my future as a music journalist. While I know there are ample opportunities online, it is seeming less and less like I will be able to rely on my writing as my sole source of income upon graduation. The people who worked at Paste were easily as passionate about music as I am, and I wish them all the best. Between this and WOXY folding earlier this year, I am more convinced than ever that independent music is becoming commoditized, leaving those who genuinely care (writers, DJ’s, etc.) at the mercy of those in suits.

