School is officially back in session, and I couldn’t be more excited. The advent of new classes, meeting new people, and continuing to hone on my skills as a writer with this blog and my other projects should be enough to keep me busy until the end of the calendar year. And, of course, there are a slew of good shows coming into town that I plan to write about in some sort of capacity. In short, it’s going to be a hectic four months.

Lately though, in terms of music, I’ve been listening to a lot of bands and albums that got me through my high school years. With the exception of the awkward emo/Warped Tour phase in 9th grade (though I still listen to several of those bands, i.e. Thursday, Brand New, etc.) it was a time of fervent musical discovery that really inspired me to research music and becoming a music journalist. Many of these bands I’ve have been listening to for the better part of 5 or 6 years now, and while (most of) their new stuff is high quality work, there is a certain magic about those first few albums that have stuck with me as time goes on.

Because of that, I have compiled a string of videos from the 2004-2006 time span, when I feel I really started to look at music more seriously and search for quality over what was simply given to me on the radio. These groups showed there was more music out there than I could have ever imagined, and that a set of open ears was all that was required to ignite a passion that will (hopefully) last my entire life. To each of these bands, and the others not on display here, I thank you.

