After an extensive break from blogging to enjoy my winter break (not that I don’t enjoy doing this, I just needed some time to relax after “My Year In Lists” and my Old 97’s Review), I am getting back into the full swing of things now that school is back in session.

2010 is off to an amazing start so far. This month alone, we get releases from Vampire Weekend and Owen Pallett (formerly Final Fantasy) today, Spoon and Eels next week, and Los Campesinos! (I have had the opportunity to listen to the new album multiple times, and it is absolutely incredible) and Magnetic Fields on the 26th. Also, I am going to be seeing Girls on the 29th, and I’m super excited.

This new year is going to see me returning to an almost exclusive focus on music. I am going to make 2010 the year that I continue to hone and improve my skills as a music journalist, with a return to (hopefully) one album review a week, reactions to major stories in the world of music, show reviews, and even more of my lists. Additionally, I am really going to give an effort to writing more feature like stories or columns. The only thing in that regard that I can be certain of is that I want to do a profile on Ian Curtis, the lead singer of Joy Division, as this year marks the 30th anniversary of his suicide. Keep on the look out for that!

Additionally, I am still going to be interning at WOXY.com. I can honestly say that I am blessed to be a part of their team. They are going to start branching me out in terms of my duties, so I can gain even more experience with them, all the while helping them promote the music that means so much to me.

Hopefully, I can make time this week to update a couple more times. I’m still trying to get myself oriented with my classes and being back on campus, but I promise full devotion to this site throughout 2010.

Happy Listening,

-Ryan

(Image Credit: I Can Has Cheezburger)

