woxyThis past Tuesday, I started my volunteer work at WOXY.com, the online only radio station that just recently moved it’s center of operations from Cincinnati to Austin. They have the distinction of being one of the first alternative radio stations in America back when they started on the airwaves as 97.7 FM(or 97X) in 1983. They played music that got very little, if any, attention from many other radio stations around the country.

Even though they were forced to go exclusively online when their broadcast license was sold in 2004,  they have remained highly influential. When the airspace was sold, they got to keep the rights to the WOXY moniker and their website, their slogan (“The Future of Rock & Roll”), and their entire music library. The station has kept the independent spirit going ever since, and now calls Austin home.

I am beyond ecstatic to have the opportunity to work for them. I am a firm believer in what they do, and want to help them in any way I can. It will give me a better understanding of how a station is run and how much fun promoting independent music can be. Most importantly, WOXY is all about the music, and that speaks volumes to me.

Working for them will allow me to embrace my passion, and I could not be more excited!

