Art Brut MainSunday marks the start of a three night show extravaganza!

I am going to be at the Mohawk tomorrow night to see Art Brut. They are band that I have been following since 2005, and they have continued to impress with each release. Their newest album, this year’s “Art Brut vs. Satan,” is chock full of Eddie Argos’ witty, often hysterical, musings about pop culture and everyday life along with music that can be best described as punk like in its’ intensity.

Monday will take me to Antone’s to see the Dirty Projectors. They are one of the most talked about bands of the year, and I want to see if they live up to the hype in their live performances. Their latest release, “Bitte Orca” had several very good tracks, while others got a bit lost in their own density. It’ll be interesting to see how things turn out. I hope it’s for the better.

Finally, Tuesday will conclude my three day indulgence, once again back at Mohawk, with Islands. I was upset that I missed them at Fun Fun Fun Fest last year, as I have been a fan of theirs for as long as I have with Art Brut. However, I will finally have the chance to see them play live.

It’s gonna be a crazy three nights. You can expect reviews of all these shows within the coming week or so. Until then, Happy listening!

-Ryan

(Image: Art Brut circa 2009)

