SugarLandHighwayArtI am back home in Sugar Land this weekend to visit my family for the first time in two months. While it is nice to see them again, I am constantly reminded of why I was so ready to leave this town.

For those who don’t know, Sugar Land is a suburb of Houston. We are famous for the Imperial Sugar Company, which moved it’s operations elsewhere several years ago. We have a mall and no less than 6,000 chain restaurants (maybe that’s a little exaggerated). There’s a town square, but even then it consists of the same kind of businesses you’d expect to find at a strip mall. Everything closes at 9 p.m., and IHOP or WalMart are your only options after that if you don’t want to drive in to Houston.

It’s times like these that I am reminded of why I love Austin so much. There is always something to do late at night. The chances that there is a good show going on is so much higher than it is in Houston, and the overall atmosphere of the city is more conducive to those of us who just want to do something after a long day. BookPeople is open until 11, as is Waterloo, and there are always the 24 hour coffee shops where you can go and have late night talks with friends. Austin really is a great city, and being away from it just highlights that.

I spent my Friday night going to see my brother play in the band at a high school football game and watching an episode of Seinfeld with my Dad. Don’t get me wrong, I love my family. It would just be nice to be in an area where a college aged guy can have fun on a Friday night. From this day forward, I vow to never subject my children to the suburbs.

